Skip to main
Information about the author of this post.
obel222's picture Olivia Ellis
UK Staff Senator
College or Department
Email Address

Just like the five love languages, there are also five languages of appreciation. Showing appreciation to those around us can be useful to those both inside and outside of the workplace. Showing appreciation can lead to more harmonious relationships and a better work environment. 
Sometimes we give or receive appreciation and don’t even notice. Understanding your own preferences, and the preferences of others, will assist you and others in communicating more clearly.

The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace

This information comes from Dr. Gary Chapman and Dr. Paul White’s book titled The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace.

1. Words of Affirmation

Uses words to communicate a positive message to another person.

Ways to communicate appreciation with words of affirmation:


2. Acts of Service

Providing assistance to another. “What can I do to help?”

Ways to communicate appreciation with acts of service:


3. Giving/Receiving Gifts

The gift is something of physical value.

Ways to communicate appreciation with giving/receiving gifts:


4. Quality Time

Giving another person your undivided and focused attention.

Ways to communicate appreciation with quality time:


5. Connection

Connection could be physical or otherwise as long as it's work-appropriate (and pandemic-appropriate).

Workplace-appropriate ways to communicate appreciation with connection:

  • Handshakes
  • Fist-bumps
  • High fives
  • Brief hugs

During the pandemic, try these ways to show appreciation with connection:

  • Eye contact
  • Use video on remote calls
  • Gifs or emojis to replace a real high five or fist bump
  • A congratulatory note saying "if I could hug you right now, I would!"